Our keys sectors

 

Our investments cover 5 keys areas to develop infrastructure that ensures tangible improvements in people's lives.

Power

Generation, storage, transmission and distribution in the renewable energy, electricity and gas sectors.

Access to power is a real issue for sustainable development in emerging countries. Our mission is to strengthen the power sector of those countries that we target. This commitment involves electrification and the diversification of means of production by focusing on renewable energy as well as improving the quality of the networks. 

Environment

Water and waste treatment, sanitation, incineration, heating networks…

In Africa, 300 million people don’t have access to drinking water:  Solving this problem ison increasingly crucial area of development as global warming progresses. STOA, aware of these important challenges, plans to invest in projects that improve the resilience of water management and waste treatment systems.  This is part of our investment mandate in the environmental sector.

Telecom

Network fibre, undersea cables, satellites, data centres.

Because the digital economy plays a significant role in the overall dynamics of global markets, emerging countries should have access to higher performing telecommunication infrastructure. STOA hopes to work towards implementing new communication technologies, and expanding and densifying telecommunication networks in emerging countries.

Transport

Highways, roads, bridges, tunnels, ports, airports, urban transit, railways, logistics.

Transportation infrastructure remains generally insufficient to meet the needs of emerging countries: the proportion of paved roads in Africa is only of 2km/100km, 3km in Latin-America and 25 km in Asia, compared to 122 in Europe. This discrepancy is just as visible regarding port infrastructure: in Africa, the largest ports handle less than 45% of the hourly volume of shipments transiting through Europe. 

Social

Public buildings, hospitals, clinics, universities, student residencies

The need for public buildings – hospitals, universities, civil services, stadiums– is particularly important for developping countries with road and power infrastructures that meet extended needs. These countries provide us with interesting investment opportunities to finance high-quality infrastructure for health, education, administrative services or leisure.

5 domaines clés pour développer des infrastructures

Nos investissements couvrent 5 domaines clés pour développer des infrastructures garantissant une amélioration concrète de la vie des populations.

Energie

Génération, stockage, transmission et distribution dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables, de l’électricité et du gaz...

Les pays émergents connaissent des problèmes d’accès à l’énergie qui représentent autant de défis à surmonter pour leur permettre de se développer durablement.

Notre mission : renforcer le secteur énergétique de nos pays cibles. Cet engagement passe par l’électrification et la diversification des moyens de production en privilégiant l’orientation vers les énergies renouvelables, ainsi que l’amélioration de la qualité des réseaux. 

Transport

Autoroutes, routes, ponts, tunnels, ports, aéroports, urbain, ferroviaire, logistique...

Les infrastructures de transport restent largement insuffisantes par rapport aux besoins des pays émergents et la densité de routes asphaltées n’est que de 2 km/100 km  en Afrique, 3 km en Amérique latine et 25 km en Asie, contre 122  en Europe. L’écart est tout aussi visible au niveau des ports : en Afrique, les plus importants d’entre eux gèrent moins de 45 % du volume horaire des conteneurs transitant par l’Europe. 

Environment

Traitement de l’eau ou des déchets, assainissement, incinération, réseaux de chaleur…

En Afrique, 300 millions de personnes n’ont pas accès à l’eau potable . Remédier à ce problème représente un axe de développement de plus en plus crucial au fur et à mesure que le réchauffement climatique progresse. STOA, conscient de ces défis majeurs, entend prendre part à l’investissement dans des projets d’amélioration de la résilience des systèmes de gestion de l’eau et de traitement des déchets. Et ce, dans le cadre de notre mandat d’investissement dans le secteur environnemental.

Télécommunications

Réseaux, fibre optique, câbles sous-marins, satellites, centres de données...

Parce que l’économie numérique joue un rôle significatif dans la dynamique globale des marchés mondiaux, les pays émergents doivent bénéficier d’infrastructures de télécommunications plus performantes. STOA souhaite œuvrer pour installer de nouvelles technologies de communication, densifier et étendre les réseaux de télécommunications dans les pays émergents.

Social

Bâtiments publics, hôpitaux, cliniques, universités, résidences étudiantes...

Le besoin en bâtiments publics – hôpitaux, universités, administrations ou stades – est particulièrement important dans les pays en voie de développement ayant des réseaux d’infrastructures routières et énergétiques répondant à des besoins étendus. Ces pays nous offrent des opportunités d’investissement intéressantes : financement d’infrastructures de qualité pour la santé, l’enseignement, les services administratifs ou encore les loisirs.